Whole30 – My Decent Into The Madness

A few people expressed interest in seeing how my attempt at the Whole30 program looked (practically speaking), so I have been keeping track (ish) of what I have been eating and how I have been feeling.

Whole30 is one of those things that I kept hearing about and thinking, “Wow…so glad you did that and mad props to you. I would probably die. But hey…respect.” Then one night last week, I looked it, just for fun, and started reading about it, both from the official website and through a bunch of people’s blogs. An hour and a half later, I felt like I had signed my own death warrant. I couldn’t quite put my finger on why I felt that way, but I think just the idea of being so vigilant in denying my body so many things that it loves would basically kill me. And I wanted to do it.

I suck at actually committing to these things though, so I was really just laughing at myself when I posted something about it on Facebook. I was shocked at how many supportive comments I got on my casual post. And thriving on words of affirmation, I dove right in.

I do want to point out why I chose to do Whole30. I would like a lifestyle change, but I don’t expect this to be it. I would like to lose wait, but that is not a strong enough desire to keep me vigilant.

One of the main things I took away from the blogs I read was that Whole30 is to help you become more aware of how your body reacts to different foods and that everyone who has done it has felt AMAZING after finishing. Sounds good to me.

So I started with a day of roughly sticking to the guidelines and actually did feel really great at the end of the day. The next day I just ate whatever, and I felt like crap at the end of the day. Totally sold, here I am.

There are a lot of rules in the Whole30 and it can be kind of legalistic. I am going all in with the mantra, “It is only 1 month,” running in the back of my mind. That being said, I¬†unintentionally slipped several times in the first couple days (which I will share with you). C’est la vie and I’m moving on knowing more than I did yesterday.

4 thoughts on “Whole30 – My Decent Into The Madness

  1. Sarah, this is great! Funny and honest…and inspirational..I love it! I will look forward to it EVERYDAY! Maybe, those cranky days were also due to a sort of withdrawal from sugar, and being hungry…looks like not enough food somedays?…maybe? Wednesday’s prep looked super…what did you make?

    Like

    • Thank you so much!! I do snack when I really feel like I need to, but it is on things like walnuts or hard boiled eggs or a kiwi, so I snack much less out of boredom….basically because my snacking is now boring lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

