Whole30 – Week 1

I started on a Thursday, because, you know, that made sense. 😒

Thursday

  • Breakfast consisted of a strawberry, pineapple, carrot smoothie* with protein powder**. It was gross. I love spinach in my smoothies, but we were out. I used the next vegetable I could find and I was chewing carrot granules for the next hour. Carrots in my smoothie will from now on be a testament of desperation for nutrition. Just give them to me whole and raw, please. ⭐
  • Lunch was an Alaskan Pollock Burger that was uh-maze-ing. Costco was having a BOGO on the bags. Score. (I am 99% sure that these were allowed, but to be honest, I feel like they tasted too good) ⭐⭐⭐
  • Dinner was a salad. Fresh strawberries, walnuts, spinach, romaine, and some chicken I had grilled up in the morning. I added some bacon bits to Jon’s plate, but did notice the added maple so refrained myself. I topped it with a homemade balsamic vinaigrette (sans mustard). I could eat like this every day of my life. Totes delish, yada yada. ⭐⭐⭐I felt pretty good by the end of the day and actually felt quite satisfied.

|note| I did spend 117 dollars on real foods at Costco

Friday

I had a really rough time waking up. I’m not sure what the cause was. The kid was also crazy. I knew it was important to start off my day with some good protein, but I was so out of it and so focused on getting out the door, that I didn’t realize that I hadn’t made breakfast until I was actually on my way out the door. So….

  • Breakfast was a banana and fresh strawberries. It was too good to be wrong, but I’m pretty sure it broke at least 3 non-rule rules of eating healthy (too much sugar, not enough protein, and the one I’m sure I just haven’t heard yet). ⭐⭐⭐
  • I was starving by lunch (shocker). I made up some scrambled eggs with turkey meat (deli meat***) and salt and pepper.⭐⭐ I shared with Thia and then proceeded to share entirely too many raspberries with her as well. (Red fruits have my heart)⭐⭐⭐
  • I had a few of Thursday’s chicken strips as an afternoon snack (grilled on the stove in extra virgin olive oil and topped with salt and pepper)⭐⭐
  • I was more thirsty then hungry by the time dinner rolled around, so I had a glass of water and a kiwi. ⭐⭐⭐I felt satisfied but had a bad case of the munchies. I believe I read somewhere that munching is either a habit or an addiction or something and if you ignore it long enough it will stop happening. I’ll keep you posted.Day 2 takeaways: I need less fruit and more water

Saturday

Day three brought its own special challenge. I worked with pudding (yum) and candy (more yum) and passed out treats to the kids at the pool. 😋

  • Breakfast was scrambled
    eggs and coffee. ⭐⭐
  • Lunch was oven baked asparagus tossed in extra virgin olive oil and garlic and sprinkled with salt and peppe0r⭐⭐⭐and a kiwi
  • Dinner was chicken and veggies (of the frozen
    stir-fry variety) cooked on the stove with lemon juice, salt, and pepper in extra virgin olive oil.⭐⭐⭐

fun read for the day: 5 Ways You’re Sabotaging Whole30

Lemon-y Chicken Stir  Fry

 

Sunday

  • Breakfast was scrambled eggs
  • Lunch was an Alaskan Pollock patty
  • Dinner was an amazing burger cooked by a friend of mine
  • Applesauce to close the night

I need more veggies in my diet and I still have the munchies.

Monday

I did not prepare well so I did not eat well and I was hungry and cranky through the afternoon and evening. and I would have given my kidney for a piece of toast. Or some yogurt and granola. Or a piece of cake. It was a rough day.

  • Two hard boiled eggs for breakfast⭐⭐
  • Turkey deli meat and strawberries for lunch⭐⭐ and ⭐⭐⭐
  • Green beans and a kiwi for dinner⭐ and ⭐⭐⭐
  • Another kiwi when I got the evening munchies

I find it amazing how much a glass of water will do in curbing my “hunger”.

Tuesday

I felt like I was dying. This was it. Game over. My mom said that my body was learning how to be a fat burner instead of a sugar burner. Too bad I wasn’t going to survive to see what that was like.

  • Hard boiled eggs for breakfast and a kiwi. Then I was still hungry so I made a spinach, strawberry, banana smoothie. It was palatable. ⭐
  • Lunch I can’t even remember. I think there were strawberries.
  • Dinner was fajitas (minus the rice and tortillas). And it was sooo good. I love my husband for the hours he put into making mass amounts of peppers and chicken. I’m sad I forgot to take a picture. Since he only does things one way, we will be eating fajitas for days. ⭐⭐⭐

After dinner I felt much better. I hoped this was the end of the really hard part.

Wednesday

I woke up feeling way better than Monday or Tuesday. I did tempt fate by hanging out a donut shop though. Fortunately, I was able to just enjoy the smells wafting around me instead of being driven into a murderous fury that ended in donut consumption.

Breakfast is the hardest. I really don’t want to eat a full meal right when I wake up. Most veggies sounds nauseating, as with most meats, and eggs are starting to sound that way as well. (Way too many eggs)

  • Scrambled eggs and cherry tomatoes were for breakfast. I sipped coffee at said donut shop like a champ.
  • img_7853I used Thia’s nap time to make up some meatballs and egg muffins🔽 using homemade breakfast sausage and snacked on all of it while I made it. Probably not whole30 approved as it wasn’t a planned meal, but I was satisfied :).Breakfast Sausage gets ⭐⭐⭐ and muffins get ⭐⭐⭐. Breakfast just got more interesting!
  • Dinner was left over fajitas (days and days of it I tell you)

 

 

Week 1 done!

No really, mom, this toast is delicious.  You MUST try a bite.

 


My star system:

⭐I will only eat this if I have to.
⭐⭐Pretty good all things considered, but if given a choice between this and pizza, I’ll take the pizza.
⭐⭐⭐I will eat this anytime, anywhere.


*Apparently smoothies are not recommended because of some psychological difference between chewing your food and drinking it. There will be a lot less smoothies in my future than anticipated, but they will not be ruled out.

**Protein Powder was straight up cheating. Who knew that whey was dairy?? Live and learn. I made sure my protein powder wouldn’t expire in the next 30 days and said goodbye for now.

***I thought deli meat was a gimme and was also distracted while shopping. I checked the ingredients and the three pack that I bought has cornstarch, which is a no-no. I am not throwing out three packs of deli meat and Jon will not eat it. I feel really bad for this one.

🔽(4 asterisks were excessive) I was going to link the recipe I used for egg muffins but then I realized I just took suggestions from other recipes and made it up as I went. Basically, I sauteed a ton of veggies and whisked them in with 9 eggs and two pieces of my breakfast sausage, poured into muffin tins, and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. I also modified the sausage recipe slightly based on what I had on hand.

The official whole30 “can I have” page
On commitment vs perfection in your whole30 (I found this marginally encouraging)

img_7854

Wednesday Meal Prep 😍

 

Leave a Reply

